Day# 18 (A day I will never forget)

Hello Everyone,
This morning I woke up knowing that today was the day. I was either going to hear back from AI-Dallas about the job or I was going to move on. My heart was also saddened because late last night I found out that one of the guys we were studying the bible with (who was a long time friend of one of the brothers) committed suicide! Very sad and very humbling morning. As I got my bowl of cereal and as I looked outside my kitchen window at the countryside I thought well, this is it, and I just began praying to God that today would be the day. I also prayed about my buddy I was having lunch with today. He works in Ft. Worth so I had a bit of a drive ahead of me. After breakfast I cleaned up and got on the road toward Ft. Worth. Scripture of the day “Your ways, O God, are holy. What god is so great as our God? You are the God who performs miracles; you display your power among the peoples.” Psalm 77:13-14 (I didn’t read this morning). As I was on my way to Ft. Worth I started thinking about what my day looked like:
1. Lunch with my friend from College
2. Chiropractor-Dallas
3. Work out and read my Bible
4. Church – But I have a brother in another region I converted who’s b-day is today and their bibletalk is celebrating his birthday and I kinda want to go.
5. I have to see how everyone is doing with the news of our friends suicide.

Catching up with an old friend!

I recieved and or made several calls on the way to Ft. Worth and everyone I talked to I asked to pray for my job situation. We prayed that I would hear back at 3pm. As I hit the 121 I could see Downtown Ft. Worth and as I descended on downtown I could see the building that I always think about when I head into downtown due to the fact that this sky scraper was virtually destroyed by a tornado when I was in college and I drove by it 1-2 hours before the tornado hit downtown that day on my way back from a bible study at Texas Christian University (God is good). As I continued my drive I remembered a girl I used to be in the campus ministry with whom reached out to me a few weeks ago on FB inquiring about church, I’ve since invited her to several events but she hasn’t been able to make it. Knowing that there was a game night this coming Friday I decided to invite her so I called and left her a message. finally I arrived in downtown and met up with my friend for lunch. As we sat down to eat Riscky’s BBQ we swapped stories about our job searches as he is in sales as am I. I shared about my job situation with him and we had a great time catching up. I would say it was a very positive meeting.

Back to Dallas

As I got on my way back to Big “D” I thought about my life and where I was at, being single at 32 and having no children yet. Over the past year my desire to have a whole bunch of kids has steadily grown. I also thought about where my heart was on the idea of dating as I have not really opened my heart in that area nor have I felt that I could with where I am in life right now. Several sisters names went through my mind as I thought about different qualities that I would want and different character things that I would need in a sister to help me grow. (Just for the record, we have some amazing sisters in the kingdom of which us brothers are lucky to have the privilege to take out on dates because we know full well that we wouldn’t even have a shot at going on a date with some of these women if we were in the world). I then began to think about different married friends that I have (whom aren’t necessarily on fire for God and or need to become disciples in order to save their marriage) and how I can inspire them to get closer to God. Oh wow, I am at the Chiropractor already (and if it seems I go a lot well I only go twice a week) time to go get my back and neck adjusted (still no word form the Art Institute by the way)! I caught up with Dr. Cornell and his wife at Chiro Bistro (Located at:

Old Town Shopping Center

5500 Greenville Avenue, Suite 606

Dallas, TX 75206)

and was out the door and on my way back to the house. As I exited the George Bush Tollway onto the Dallas North Tollway and as I was approaching Park Blvd my phone started ringing. I quickly answered it and I heard a voice on the other end say: “Jeremy Lindley this is Jodie from the Art Institute of Dallas and I was calling to let you know that the board of directors met in regard to your interview and have decided to MAKE YOU A FORMAL OFFER TO JOIN OUR STAFF AS AN ASST DIRECTOR OF ADMISSIONS!!!!!!!” I looked at the time on my clock and it said 2:47pm, I quickly accepted the position and as I was exiting my street my eyes started to tear up! I called my roommate (whom has been gracious enough to allow me to stay at his luxury apt at an amazingly reduced rate for which I am very grateful) and told him the good news. I when I got home I sat down at the table, looked out my 3rd story window and I “EXHALED” thanking Jesus as I felt like a huge boulder had just been lifted off my shoulders. It was time to celebrate as I called a good buddy at my apt complex that I was reaching out too and told him to meet me at Gecko burger. After my workout I met up with him and my roommate Van and we hung out as I got caught up on my friends life (pray that God allows his heart to open up to searching for him). It was then off to midweek where us men talked about forging the brotherhood as we confessed sin and corrected/encouraged each other.

I would like to take this time to thank all my friends in Denver, Texas, California, and FB land that have been praying for me and my JOB situation and I would like to thank God through whom “ALL BLESSINGS FLOW” for loving me enough to discipline me during this time of refining and for bringing me through it as a more grateful and compassionate man!

I remember my affliction and my wandering,
the bitterness and the gall.
20 I well remember them,
and my soul is downcast within me.
21 Yet this I call to mind
and therefore I have hope:

22 Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, “The LORD is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.”

25 The LORD is good to those whose hope is in him,
to the one who seeks him;
26 it is good to wait quietly
for the salvation of the LORD.” Lamentations 3:19-26 NIV

 

20121218-095647.jpg

This entry was posted in My Missionary Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

