My Missionary Life: Day #2

Well….   After posting my first blog on New Years I was told that I need to post shorter blogs: Seems readers tend to have the attention span of a gnat so I am going to make my blogs way more user friendly.

My morning started as I sat at my kitchen table staring out the 3rd story window of my apartment looking out over the countryside of Lewisville, TX while eating cereal and reading Proverbs 1&2 “let the wise listen and add to their learning, and let the discerning get guidance” Prov 1:2 Daily Scripture. In observance to this passage I began honoring my commitment to read the books that have been given to me that I haven’t read yet so I began with “Failing Forward.”  This was a natural choice considering the trials I experienced last year in life. Key point in today’s reading of it was: “the main thing that separates average people from great achievers is their attitude and response to failure.”

Soon after I was off to Chiro Bistro to get my back adjusted by Dr. Cornell Cornish.  Dr. Cornell and I have been studying the Bible as he and his family have become great friends and networking partners of mine.  I prayed that they would see Jesus in me (as is often my prayer in the morning) as I was en route to their office.  As I joyfully walked in to the clinic that has the modern starbucks feel to it complete with Nintendo Wii and free coffee, cocoa, & hot tea, I was treated to the warm welcome that his wife Dr, Teandra greets every practice member with.  After getting adjusted I chatted w/ Dr. Cornish while playing with his child who has learned to manipulate me into picking me up & swingin her around while I’m in the office.  The feel of the convo was bittersweet as we both were preparing for my anticipated departure to Austin, TX soon.

As for the rest of the day it was spent dealing w/ my mistake in announcing my expected departure publicly before doing it privately.  Had several conversations throughout the afternoon and evening in regards to this.  Mostly I had to take responsibility for not announcing it in a way that was building up. (Honestly it was a honest but dumb mistake that left people feeling like I was just abandoning them).  I really saw my heart as Adam Smith, my singles minister called me about a situation I was going through and I got very angry about the situation and he had to tell me to calm down and stop interrupting him or he was gonna hang up (ouch!!!!!).  I apologized (in no way was I angry at him, it was more the situation that happened).  After speaking with him I got blasted by a friend of mine from California for tricking them into believing that the Texas Jackelope was a real animal. It was soon off to the Lodge apartment clubhouse to watch the Oklahoma State Cowboys pull off a miracle victory overr the Stanford Cardinal. I then went to sleep!

Humbly signing off!

Jeremiah Lindley

This entry was posted in My Missionary Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Missionary Life: Day #2

  1. THAT’S INSIGHTFUL: “Key point in today’s reading of it was: “the main thing that separates average people from great achievers is their attitude and response to failure.”
    -totally agree. This is something I learned up at Stanford. I failed much and embarrassed myself more times than I cared to remember. But what I was able to do with those failures has enabled me to enjoy my growth and mature in ways I have never expected.

    THAT’S REAL: “I really saw my heart as Adam Smith, my singles minister called me about a situation I was going through and I got very angry about the situation and he had to tell me to calm down and stop interrupting him or he was gonna hang up (ouch!!!!!). I apologized (in no way was I angry at him, it was more the situation that happened).”
    -Wow!!! Go Adam! Taming the Jeremiah monster. That’s impressive. 😉

    THAT’S FUNNY: “After speaking with him I got blasted by a friend of mine from California for tricking them into believing that the Texas Jackelope was a real animal. It was soon off to the Lodge apartment clubhouse to watch the Oklahoma State Cowboys pull off a miracle victory over the Stanford Cardinal. I then went to sleep!
    -Janelle’s Song of Sadness for the Jackelope and Stanford

    Why????????
    Jackelope!
    Why???????
    Why couldn’t you be real?
    I am so disappointed…
    I regret the day that I went on Wikepedia and found out the horrible truth.
    You would have been the coolest critter on the face of God’s green earth.
    My hopes are dashed.
    I must return to the way of the Prairie Dog.
    But it’s so not the same.
    Jackelope WHY??????

    Why????????
    Stanford
    Why????????
    Why couldn’t you just make a simple field goal?
    I am so confused…
    Did you really need to use the Fiesta Bowl to prove the following statement: “You are only as strong as your weakest link”?
    We could have had bragging rights for the entire year.
    Woe is me.
    Now I have to lean on pure intelligence when conversing with professionals.
    I had hope that my life would not have come to this.
    Stanford WHY????????

    THAT’S AWESOME: “After getting adjusted I chatted w/ Dr. Cornish while playing with his child who has learned to manipulate me into picking me up & swingin her around while I’m in the office. The feel of the convo was bittersweet as we both were preparing for my anticipated departure to Austin, TX soon.”
    -Awe… You’re such a stud. ATTENTION EVERYONE!!! STUD ACTION OVER HERE!
    Letting people into your heart and allowing yourself into their lives- this is what it is to be Spiritually Hot!

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

